Ashtavinayak Ganpati Names

Ashtavinayak Ganpati Names: A Spiritual Journey Through Eight Divine Forms

Spread the love

Ashtavinayak Ganpati, a revered pilgrimage circuit in Maharashtra, encompasses eight ancient temples dedicated to Lord Ganesha. In this blog, we will embark on a spiritual journey, unraveling the stories, significance, and names of these eight divine forms of Lord Ganesha.

List of Ashtavinayak Ganpati Names:

1. Moreshwar: The Beginning of the Ashtavinayak Pilgrimage

Moreshwar, also known as Mayureshwar, marks the initiation of the Ashtavinayak pilgrimage. Located in Morgaon, this temple is believed to be the first dwelling place of Lord Ganesha. The name “Moreshwar” means the “Lord of Peacocks,” signifying Lord Ganesha’s association with this majestic bird.

2. Siddhivinayak: The Bestower of Success

Siddhivinayak, situated in Siddhatek, is the second stop on the Ashtavinayak pilgrimage. The name “Siddhivinayak” translates to “the bestower of success and achievements.” Devotees visit this temple to seek blessings for the fulfillment of their desires and goals.

3. Ballaleshwar: The Devotion of a Loyal Devotee

The temple of Ballaleshwar in Pali is the third destination on the Ashtavinayak trail. This form of Lord Ganesha is named after Ballala, a devoted child who won Ganesha’s favor. The name “Ballaleshwar” signifies the bond of unwavering devotion between the deity and his devotee.

4. Varadavinayak: The Granter of Boons

Located in Mahad, Varadavinayak is the fourth temple on the pilgrimage route. “Varada” means “boon,” and devotees believe that Lord Ganesha, in this form, grants their wishes and desires. This temple holds special significance for those seeking divine blessings.

5. Chintamani: Dispeller of Worries and Anxieties

Chintamani, found in Theur, is the fifth stop on the Ashtavinayak yatra. The name “Chintamani” translates to “the dispeller of worries.” Devotees flock to this temple to seek solace and relief from their anxieties and troubles.

6. Girijatmaj: The Son of Parvati

Girijatmaj, situated in Lenyadri, is the sixth temple in the Ashtavinayak circuit. This name refers to Lord Ganesha as the “son of Girija,” an alternate name for Goddess Parvati. The temple is perched atop a hill, adding to its mystique.

7. Vighneshwar: The Remover of Obstacles

The seventh temple, Vighneshwar, is nestled in Ozar. “Vighneshwar” means “the remover of obstacles,” and devotees believe that worshiping Lord Ganesha in this form helps eliminate hurdles and challenges from their lives.

8. Mahaganpati: The Supreme Lord

The final destination on the Ashtavinayak pilgrimage is the Mahaganpati temple in Ranjangaon. Here, Lord Ganesha is worshipped as the supreme deity, “Mahaganpati.” This form signifies the ultimate power and divinity of Lord Ganesha.


In conclusion, the Ashtavinayak Ganpati pilgrimage takes devotees on a spiritual journey through eight sacred temples, each dedicated to a unique form of Lord Ganesha. These Ashtavinayak Ganpati names not only represent divine attributes but also offer solace, blessings, and the fulfillment of devotees’ desires.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *